Our ranking system consists of 10 kyu (Pre-black belt ranks) and then proceeds to Dan levels (Black Belt)

“No matter how you may excel in the art of Karate, and in your scholastic endeavors, nothing is more important than your behavior and your humanity as observed in daily life.”
- Gichin Funakoshi

​Kyu Belts

Beginner ranks

10th kyu (White)

9th kyu (Yellow)

8th kyu (Orange)

 7th kyu (Green)

Intermediate ranks

6th kyu (Blue)

5th kyu (Purple)

4th kyu (Purple with Black Stripe)

Advanced ranks

3rd kyu (Brown with White Stripe)

2nd kyu (Solid Brown)

1st kyu (Brown with Black Stripe)

*Exam for kyu grades will be announced to candidates 1 month before exam date. 

Dan Levels 

Black Belt

Shodan-ho (1st degree Black Belt)

*Reserved for students under 16 years of age

Shodan (1st degree Black Belt)

Nidan (2nd degree Black Belt)

Sandan (3rd degree Black Belt)

Yondan (4th degree Black Belt)

Godan (5th degree Black Belt)​ ...

Ranking continues to 10th degree Black Belt, which is reserved for the founder of a style or system.


Students with the rank of Shodan are required to become members of ISKA. Testing for Shodan and higher will be examined by ISKA officials.


*Dan candidates will be notified of the exam date and fees 3 months before the actual exam to prepare.

(209) 328-7181

Shotokan Karate Academy, Escalon

© 2019 All Rights Reserved